One week, but who’s counting?

So a week from today, I’ll be starting orientation in Stony Point, NY, and two weeks from today, I’ll be in Hollywood, CA starting my year as a Dweller.

When I first began this process back in November, and submitted my application, I thought that I had so much time before I was at this point. (8+ months. Over half a year, which should be really long right? Wrong.) But it’s an incredible feeling to know that a calling I’ve felt for a long time, and the results of many prayers, research, and packing, is about to start!

For those of you who don’t know me, here’s a little bit about me 🙂

I graduated from high school this past May, which makes me one of the younger Dwellers, given that most volunteers are college grads, or currently in college taking a year off in between years. I’m from a beautiful small community in Ohio, in the heart of Amish Country. Living in the city for a year will, in a lot of ways, be a 180 from where I’ve grown up. I will be attending Bluffton University in the fall of 2016, with the intent to major in social work, and minor in TESOL.

What I’m most excited about for this year, is the opportunity to be a part of a greater story.I can’t wait to build relationships with the people I meet, and share the love that God has given me. I don’t know about you, but I think it’s really incredible to see how so many different kinds of people, all ages, and from all different places can come together to serve.

Only one more week until it all begins!

Leave a Reply

