Destination: Guatemala

Well, once again I’m packing to leave but this time I’m packing for two places at once. I’m moving my belongings into my dorm at Bluffton University this Saturday and on Monday I’ll be hopping on a plane with 8 other Bluffton students bound for Guatemala.

Bluffton University offers a semester-long study abroad experience through CASAS at Semilla, which is the the Latin American Anabaptist Seminary in Guatemala City (click HERE for their website and for more information).

For approximately the first 2 months of the semester, we students will be living with different host families within Guatemala City, and taking classes at CASAS. We’ll have 4 hours of Spanish class every morning, and then a class in English in the afternoon. As a group with our group leader, we will do a lot of sightseeing both in the afternoons and on the weekends. Partway through the semester we will have a week to travel, and then for the last month of the semester we will be living with different host families somewhere in Guatemala and will each have a work placement related to our individual majors and/or interests.

For the spring semester, I’ll be returning to Bluffton to finish out the school year.

The hope for this upcoming semester is that I will be able to learn a lot about the history and culture of Guatemala, while also improving my Spanish and sharing in fellowship and community with local families and with my group members.

I plan to blog at least once a month (if not more often) for anyone who is interested in keeping up to date with what we will be doing/seeing/learning. (Hopefully that will include lots of pictures too!)

I’m excited to share this next journey with you, and if you have any questions along the way I’ll do my very best to answer them. Feel free to post comments at any time, or for those of you who have my email address, I will do my best to get back to you in a timely manner as well 🙂

Blessings,

Rowena

Leave a Reply

